Freezer Cooking My Way! Part 2

Yesterday, I shared with you how I decided to make freezer cooking works for my situation. Here are the results of my first freezer cooking attempt. 

My plan:

1. I started by choosing my common ingredient: ground beef. I choose it simply because there are gazillions of recipes that I can make with it.

2. I decided on the meals I wanted to prepare. Even when I was not planning to prepare a whole meal but a meal starter it’s important to know what I am planning with it so I can make sure I have all the ingredients on hands. The menu I decided for my freezer cooking section was brown sugar meatloaf with mashed potatoes and vegetable, burritos and pasta. My reasoning behind these 3 recipes was that all are part of my family favorites and that all have very simple side dishes.

3. I proceed to prepare my shopping list and make sure I have everything I needed the day before.

4. Thankfully my daughter still takes a long 2-3 hour nap so I choose this time of the day to do my freezer cooking section.

5. Get cooking.

My Results:

I was able to make 2 meat loaf and cooked 3 pounds worth of meals. This can be translated as a whole week of meals for my family. I wish I could tell you it only took me 2 hours but I had to left the cleaning process for the evening because by the time I finished the cooking I was exhausted and really needed a nap before my daughter wakes from hers. At the end, even when it was a lot of work I was very satisfied with the results. After 2 weeks of being able to enjoy the benefits of my freezer cooking section I can tell you I will definitely do it again. I enjoy it so much that I am planning to make it part of my weekly routine. Not always will I have the time to spent 2 or 3 hours but my goal is to maximize my time and ease dinner time.

Ways to incorporate freezer cooking in your daily routine:

1. Make a double or triple batch of whatever you are making for that day, eat one for dinner and freeze the rest. This will work well with lasagna, meat loaf, and casseroles.

2. Simple thing like cutting onions and vegetables and have them freeze for when you need it.

3. Don’t discount what you can do with leftovers. Next time you have some extra pieces of chicken just shredded and freeze it. Next time you can make some yummy enchiladas.

Leave a Reply

