My Goals for 2012

I am sticking with only 10 goals since I want to be able to accomplish them all. This way if I’m able to accomplish more is going to be a nice bonus and not a disappointment. Although I will be working in most of my goals through the whole year, I want to focus in a month by month basis and do a monthly report. This way I can be more proactive into tacking my goals. Here is my list of goals for this new year.

  • Be more productive: One of the hardest part of being a stay at home mom is that you don’t have a boss to tell you what to do. Since I usually waste too much time,  I want to make my priority this year to be more wisely about managing my time. For this I want to introduce a weekly to do list in February and hopefully stick with it!
  • Guest room into Nursery and family room into guest room: Since we have 3 bedrooms and baby number two in coming on the way, we are going to transform the guest room in the nursery. The biggest challenge will be to transform the family that we currently use as storage into the guest room. I want to finish both rooms by June.
  • Read more often: I would like to read at least 30 min daily (Monday through Friday). Hopefully at this pace I will be able to read at least 6 books and the whole New Testament this year.
  • Have a better personal appearance: Since I became a mom last year I have been more careless about my personal appearance. This year I would like to take more time for myself every morning. Also, I would like to go to a salon every other month and do my nails once a month.
  • Clear out the clutter:  One of my biggest problem is that I am too disorganized. I need to be better at tackle the mess at the moment. Every month I want to find at least one organizational strategy for around the house that will help me be more ordered. By the end of the year I want to have a home for everything I own.
  • Learn how to do cakes: I love birthdays and I would love to be able to do my kids birthday cakes every year. During the month of July I want to take a cake decorating class at Micheal’s or Joann’s.
  • Stick to our monthly budget: Ever since we got married in 2008 we have been very good at establish a budget. However we are awful at sticking to it. This year we want to have monthly meeting about our budget so we can be accountable to each other.
  • Cook at least 3 times per week: This is not only a healthy goal but a financial one. We have notice that eating out is one of our biggest non debt expenses. Part of the stick to our budget goal will be to cook more often during the week and to make enough food for Carlos to take to work the next day. Also, I want to do a Weekly Menu ahead of time so I’m not in a rush at 5pm looking in my pantry what to make for dinner.
  • Have monthly date nights with my husband: Before we had kids we used to have weekly date nights. Now, with two kids under two is going to be very hard to go out on a regular basis. However, I want to make our priority to have some sort of time together every month even if is in the form of date night at home.
  • Go on a Marriage Retreat: Last year we had the opportunity to go on our first marriage retreat while  my mom took care of our daughter. We had a great time and it was a very fulfilling experience. With two small children, this year is going to be harder to go away for a long period of time. I want to find a close to home overnight marriage retreat. Hopefully we can schedule the retreat by the month of November.
6 thoughts on “My Goals for 2012

  1. Hi Cynthia,
    I loved this idea. I was doing a diary about my devotionals, but I stop doing it, after Yair born. I always have trouble with establishing goals and doing plans because I think that I am able to remember everything and do what I really need to do. So, if someone need help I just forget my things and help them. After having two kids I notice that life is easier if you have goals and a flexible plan. I still working on it. I love your 10 goals and I will pray that you accomplish them.

      • Well, I don’t have my goals for this year, but I have weekly goals. I can join you with my weekly goals. This week my goal is pack everything upstairs. Since I get sick and my kids too, it will take me few more days. For next week I will be packing my kids room or my kitchen (so I will be doing simple meals for a while).

  2. Hi Cynthia

    Nelson told me about your blog and I checked it out. I think its great that your doing this and how you’ve made it as a way to keep track on your set goals. I understand what it is to set goals and miss accomplishing ALL of them. Its something we laugh about and tack it on human nature, but the fact of the matter is that accountability is important in life if you want to get anything done – even a decent meal! ;). I’ve been wanting to get a blog started as well and you have inspired me to once again give it a shot, and I might even try the weekly meal planning too. Congratulations on your initiative for 2012 and on your new baby of course.

    God Bless,
    Grenda (Nelson’s wife) 😉

    • Thank you for your encouragement, I’m glad I’ve inspire you to started a blog. You should totally try meal planning, it’s been a great tool in my house. You won’t regret it!

  3. Pingback: Progress Report: February | Carlos' Wife Diaries

Leave a Reply

